Sep 23 2019

Woodburn Finale

The final two races for the 2019 season. A short drive to Woodburn Dragstrip. All but one of the top ten racers were present. Looks to be a great showdown for the championship.

Saturday morning was a little foggy, but the racing started pretty much on time.

We had fourteen Super Comp racers enter the Saturday race. Chuck Linne, Dale Green, Darral Petitt, Dave Secondi, Dave Thorton, Diane Petitt, Emmett McKillop, Greg Pessemier, Mark Gillespie, Mark Loftis, Tony Arthur, Ty Anderson, Wade Archer, and Jack Stutler were entered. On the first qualifying pass, Wade ran a great 8.902. I stopped by his trailer and told him he left the door open for the #1 spot. Sure, enough on the next qualifying pass, Mark Loftis sealed the deal with an 8.901 to take the #1 spot and earn the Snap-On tool prize. Thanks to Snap-On tools for the great awards.

The race sponsor was JA Morris Construction.

The ladder was set and then we got to wait for the feature cars and stuff breaking.

First round started with Darral taking out Pessemier. Then Gillespie and current points leader Diane squared up. In the battle of red lights, Gillespie lost, -.005 to -.003. The points leader moves on. Secondi dashed McKillops hope for another championship by having a .004 light and running an 8.907 to McKillops break out. Green improved his chance at another championship when Stutler turned on the red light. Anderson won when Thornton also red lit. Arthur lost to Loftis with yet another red light and finally Archer used a better light to force Linne to break out.

Round two found Anderson vs Diane. Diane had the better light .001 to Andersons .004. But Anderson ran closer to the index to take the win. That left the championship battle open to Green and Darral. And they ran each other next. Green was a little late and did not have enough room to get around Darral. Darral went 8.907 and Green went 8.909. Darral moves on. Archer had a red light against Secondi and Loftis had the bye.

Darral meets Secondi in the semi-finals. Darral throws a .021 package out and Secondi could only come up with a .026 package. Darral to the final. On the other side, Anderson is the winner when Loftis goes red.

Darkness found us and so we could not run the final. Petitt and Anderson split the purse, and each got 65 points for the race.

We had spaghetti feed and awards ceremony in the Petitt pits. Worst Losing Package award went to Mark Gillespie.

Sunday morning arrived and so did the rain. We held out for a couple of hours, but mother nature won in the end. Sunday was a rain out. Everyone in attendance get the 11 points for the race.

I did some rough calculations and it looks like a Petitt is the 2019 Champion. Diane Petitt, with Darral Petitt in second place, followed by Dale Green and then Emmett McKillop.

Big thanks to the race sponsor – JA Morris Construction. Bigger thanks to all of the 2019 Sponsors and hope to see you back in 2020.

The awards banquet will probably be the last Saturday in January. Not sure where, will keep you informed.

The 2020 race schedule is still in the works. Should have it finalized soon.